Trials & Tribulations

With all the options out there for you to choose from, with regards to cameras, the photography world can seem like a jungle! So, before you commit to purchasing any camera, ask your self some very important questions. “What kind of pictures do I plan to take?” “How much am I willing to spend?” “Is photography going to be a hobby or a profession?” “Canon or Nikon?”

I would love to tell you that I have all the answers, but I don’t. These are questions that only you can answer. If you are an amateur like me then I know that these questions can seem extremely daunting. Although i can’t answer all your questions, what I can do is tell you what not to do. DO NOT go out and purchase the most expensive camera you can find because you think it will make you a photographer extraordinaire. The assumption that a really expensive camera will make you take great photos is WRONG. Experience and natural ability will make you take great pictures.  Yes, your equipment is crucial to taking quality photographs but it is rendered useless if you don’t know how to use it.

So, how do you pick the right camera for you when you have little to no prior knowledge of photography? RESEARCH! I did a ton of research before picking my camera. By research I mean, I watched YouTube videos about the cameras, read reviews, asked professional photographers; I also visited a lot of stores and played with the cameras my self. Many professional photographers will tell you to get the Canon 5d Mark II. This camera is AMAZING but if you are new to photography, it is probably not the best camera to learn on and it is very expensive. At this point you are probably trying photography on for size so I would recommend starting off with an amateur-semi pro camera like the Canon 60D or Canon 7D.

The Canon 60D and 7D are higher end cameras than Canon’s Rebel series. This is important because they give you room to grow from an amateur photographer to semi-professional. You don’t want to outgrow your camera too quickly do you? Another reason I mention these two cameras is because these are the two cameras that I was having a hard time choosing between. They are pretty close in what they offer but the Canon 7D is about $500 more  and offers a few extras, a more advanced view finder, titanium body, and shoots at an amazing 8fps. Those features are great, but in terms of picture quality I could not see a difference. If you are planning to shoot sports or “fast photography”, then the 7D may be worth the extra cash but since that was not what I aimed to photograph, I chose the 60D.

So far I am happy with my purchase. I have taken some pretty awesome photographs and the camera is very user friendly. The construction is  durable without being too  too heavy. The pictures can be a little grainy in low light situations as you get into the high ISO  but it’s nothing that can’t be fixed in post (Photoshop) or with an external flash. I hope you found this useful and I will be sharing my experience of my first paid photography gig with you on my next post. Here is a little taste of what some of the pictures look like right out of my 60D with no editing.

If you have recently purchased a camera and started on your photography endeavors please share some of your pictures with me and tell me about the camera you chose!

Till next time,

-Ciao

Leave a Reply

